STROUD DISTRICT COUNCIL



Council Offices • Ebley Mill • Ebley Wharf • Stroud • GL5 4UB Telephone 01453 766321

www.stroud.gov.uk

Email: democratic.services@stroud.gov.uk

20 March 2023

Agenda Published: 20 Mar 2023

HOUSING COMMITTEE

A meeting of the Housing Committee will be held on <u>TUESDAY</u>, <u>28 MARCH 2023</u> in the Council Chamber, Ebley Mill, Ebley Wharf, Stroud at <u>7.00 pm</u>

ICLO Leavy

Kathy O'Leary Chief Executive

Please Note: The meeting is being held in the Council Chamber at Stroud District Council and will be streamed live on the Council's <u>YouTube Channel</u>. A recording of the meeting will be published onto the <u>Council's website</u>. The whole of the meeting will be recorded except where there are confidential or exempt items, which may need to be considered in the absence of press and public.

If you wish to attend this meeting, please contact democratic.services@stroud.gov.uk.

This is to ensure adequate seating is available in the Council Chamber.

AGENDA

1. APOLOGIES

To receive apologies of absence.

2. DECLARATION OF INTERESTS

To receive declarations of interest.

3. MINUTES (Pages 5 - 14)

To approve the minutes of the meeting held on 31 January 2023.

4. PUBLIC QUESTION TIME

The Chair of the Committee will answer questions from members of the public submitted in accordance with the Council's procedures.

DEADLINE FOR RECEIPT OF QUESTIONS Noon on Wednesday, 22 March 2023

Questions must be submitted to the Chief Executive, Democratic Services, Ebley Mill, Ebley Wharf, Stroud and can be sent by email to democratic.services@stroud.gov.uk

5. MEMBERS' QUESTIONS

See Agenda Item 4 for deadlines for submission.

Housing Committee 28 March 2023

6. INDEPENDENT LIVING STRATEGY (UPDATE) (Pages 15 - 148)

To present members with an update of Independent Living Strategy in relation to Independent Living for people 55+.

7. BUDGET MONITORING REPORT 2022/23 QUARTER 3 (Pages 149 - 158)

To present the 2022/23 forecast outturn position against the General Fund and Housing Revenue Account (HRA) revenue budgets and Capital Programme that the Committee is responsible for, in order to give an expectation of possible variances against budget.

8. SOCIAL HOUSING DECARBONISATION FUND (Pages 159 - 164)

To present members with an update on the Social Housing Decarbonisation fund available to the HRA.

9. DE-POOLING OF RENTS AND SERVICE CHARGES (Pages 165 - 202)

This report seeks approval from the Committee to implement depooling of rents and services charges with effect from 1 April 2024, thereby enabling the Council to recover fully where possible - in a fair and transparent manner, the costs we incur delivering services to our residents; some of which are currently subsidised by the Housing Revenue Account (HRA) or other residents.

It also seeks approval of the new Rents and Service Charges Policy.

10. TENANT ENGAGEMENT & SUPPORT (Pages 203 - 372)

To present the results and provide an analysis of the tenant's satisfaction surveys for general needs tenants.

11. <u>EMPTY COUNCIL HOMES POLICY (Pages 373 - 390)</u>

Following a recommendation from Audit Risk Assurance this report presents an Empty Council Homes Policy for approval.

The policy will provide the strategic framework for our operational void procedures.

12. TENANT INFORMATION & PROPERTY UPDATE (Pages 391 - 398)

To update members on what was formerly known as the Tenant Handbook and updates that are being considered.

13. MEMBER / OFFICER REPORTS

- (a) Canalside Site /A419 Stonehouse (Former Ship inn Site) (Pages 399 400)
- (b) Damp and Mould Policy (Pages 401 404)
- (c) Progress update on Key action plans (Cleaner Estates & Service Standards and tenant engagement) (Verbal Report)
- (d) Performance Monitoring Q3 (Pages 405 414)
- (e) Tenant Representatives (Verbal Report)

14. WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 415 - 416)

To consider the work programme.

Members of Housing Committee

Councillor Mattie Ross (Chair)

Councillor Paula Baker Councillor Katrina Davis Councillor Colin Fryer Councillor Lindsey Green Councillor Jessie Hoskin

Councillor Lucas Schoemaker (Vice-Chair)

Councillor Nicholas Housden Councillor Steve Hynd Councillor Christopher Jockel Councillor Jenny Miles Councillor Loraine Patrick